Academic Requirements

Brief Description: 

Responsible for the administration and interpretation of academic requirements for undergraduate degrees, and for action on student petitions for exceptions to requirements and to other academic regulations.


The following information is taken from Motion US00/01-6 which revises the charges to the standing University Committees:

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Academic Requirements Committee shall be responsible for the administration and interpretation of academic requirements for baccalaureate degrees, and for action on student petitions for exceptions to these requirements and other academic regulations. It shall have no jurisdiction over regulations governing graduate degrees or requirements for individual majors or minors. The committee’s largest task shall be to evaluate and rule on student petitions. The committee shall also gather data and observe the effects of academic regulations, and present its findings and recommendations to the faculty. The committee shall delegate to its secretary, the University Registrar, the administration of many routine phases of the University's academic regulations in accordance with policies set by the committee.


Membership of the Academic Requirements Committee is not fixed except for the 3 student members. The composition of the committee traditionally includes 7-8 teaching faculty, 3 students, plus Academic Advising Director or designee (ex officio), Financial Aid Director or designee (ex officio), and University Registrar as Secretary (ex officio, non-voting). Advanced students -- junior or senior -- are preferred.


The Academic Requirements Committee shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate Executive Coordinator no later than the final University Senate meeting in May. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary. The Committee shall also report to the Undergraduate Council on all pertinent issues.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
Spencer ChangPhysicschang2@uoregon.edu2014 
Glenda UtseyArchitecturegutsey@uoregon.edu2014 
Hayden HarkerMathematicsharker@uoregon.edu2014 
Eren CilDecision Scienceserencil@uoregon.edu2014 
TBD  2014 
Karen McLaughlinEducationkdurany@uoregon.edu2013 Chair
Josh SnodgrassAnthropologyjjosh@uoregon.edu2013 
TBDStudent 2013 
TBDStudent 2013 
TBDStudent 2013 
Jennifer JoslinOffice of Academic Advisingjjoslin@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Jim GilmourFinancial Aid and Scholarshipsjgilmour@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Gail UnruhDirector McNair Programgqunruh@uoregon.eduEx Officio 

Standing Committee

Selection Type: