Senate Executive Committee

Brief Description: 

The Executive Committee of the University Senate shall advise the Senate President, assist in setting the agenda for each Senate meeting and facilitate the work of the Senate.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

Defined by UO Senate Bylaws:

5.1 The Executive Committee of the University Senate shall advise the Senate President, assist in setting the agenda for each Senate meeting and facilitate the work of the Senate. Monthly meetings shall be called by the Senate President and shall be generally scheduled two weeks prior to each Senate meeting.

Membership: 

Defined by UO Senate Bylaws:

5.1 The Senate Executive Committee shall minimally consist of the Senate President (the chair), Senate Vice President, the immediate past Senate President, the chair of the Academic Council, three tenure-related faculty Senators, one Officer of Administration Senator, one non-tenure track faculty Senator, one Classified Staff Senator, the Officer of Research Senator, one Student Senator and the ASUO President or designee. The Senate President may appoint additional members including outside faculty to serve on this committee. The incoming Senate President shall appoint all members to this committee and their terms of office shall be one year commencing when the Senate President takes office. The Senate Executive Coordinator and the Senate Parliamentarian shall serve as ex-officio non-voting members of the Senate Executive Committee. To maintain close communication with the Senate, the University President shall be invited whenever appropriate to Senate Executive Committee meetings.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Robert KyrSenate Presidentrkyr@uoregon.edu2013 Chair
Margaret ParisSenate Vice Presidentmparis@uoregon.edu 2013 
Robert Kyr2011 - 2012 Senate Presidentrky@uoregon.edu2013 
Ken PrehodaFaculty Senator - Chemistryprehoda@uoregon.edu2013 
John BonineFaculty Senator - Lawjbonine@uoregon.edu2013 
Roxann PrazniakFaculty Senator - History CHCprazniak@uoregon.edu2013 
Louise BishopLiterature CHClmbishop@uoregon.edu2013 
Bruce BlonigenEconomicsbruceb@uoregon.edu2013 
Pedro Garcia-CaroRomance Languagespgcaro@uoregon.edu2013 
Susan GaryLawsgary@uoregon.edu2013 
Kassia DellaboughNTTF Senator - AAAkassia@uoregon.edu2013 
Mandy ChongClassified Staff Senatormchong@uoregon.edu2013 
Ryan KellemsOfficer of Research Senatorrkellems@uoregon.edu2013 
Roger AdkinsOA Senatorradkins@uoregon.edu2013 
Laura HinmanASUO Presidentlhinman@uoregon.edu2013 
Matthew MiyamotoASUO Senate Presidentmgm@uoregon.edu2013 
Harlan MechlingStudent Senatorharlan@uoregon.edu2013 
TBDAcademic Council Chair 2013 
Miriam BoltonOA Council Chairmbolton@uoregon.edu2013 
Christopher ProsserSenate Executive Coordinator Ex Officio Non-Voting 
Paul SimondsSenate Parliamentariansimonds@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Type: 

Internal Senate Committee

Selection Type: 

Appointed