Senate Budget Committee

Brief Description: 

The Senate Budget Committee is the University's primary agency for faculty participation in University fiscal policy.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

Defined by UO Senate Bylaws:

5.4 The Senate Budget Committee is charged with informing itself and the University Community about University financial matters. It shall advise the University President, other University administrators, the Senate President, the Senate and the University Community on budgetary policy and long-term financial strategies. The University Administration shall provide all financial information requested by the Committee in a timely fashion. The Budget Committee may initiate the study of financial issues. The Senate Budget Committee shall make recommendations to the Senate for Senate action.


Defined by UO Senate Bylaws:

5.4 The Senate Budget Committee shall consist of six tenured faculty members appointed by the incoming Senate President for staggered, three year terms. The Senate President shall be an ex-officio voting member of the Senate Budget Committee during his/her term of office. The University President and Provost shall be ex-officio non-voting members of the committee and each may designate administration members to accompany and/or represent them. The University President and members of the Administration shall keep the committee informed of actions impacting the University’s budget by the Governor, the Legislature, the Oregon University System, the Chancellor's Office, University of Oregon Foundation and other organizations and individuals. The Senate Budget Committee shall choose its own chair from its membership. The Committee may establish working sub-committees.

Reports to the Senate: 

Report on the New Partnership proposal - 11.09.2010

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Angela DavisBusinessdavisan@uoregon.edu2014 
Lisa FreinkelEnglishfreinkel@uoregon.edu2014 
John ChalmersBusinessjchalmer@uoregon.edu2013Chair
Tim DuyEconomicsduy@uoregon.edu2013 
Marina GuenzaChemistrymguenza@uoregon.edu2012 
Van KolpinEconomicsvkolpin@uoregon.edu2012 
Robert KyrSenate Presidentrkyr@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Michael GottfredsonUniversity Presidentpres@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
James C. BeanUniversity Provostjcbean@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

Internal Senate Committee

Selection Type: