Off-Campus Scholarships and Grants

Brief Description: 

Screens candidates for Fulbright, Rhodes, and other off-campus scholarships and grants.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Off-Campus Scholarships and Grants Committee was established primarily as a screening board for all off-campus student scholarships and grants. Candidates for the Fulbright, Rhodes, Marshall, or other grants were reviewed by the committee at some point in the application process. The committee's screening function over some awards has changed. Currently, this committee administers the screening for the Graduate Fulbright Awards, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) Awards and the National Student Exchange Program (NSEP) Awards.

This committee meets as needed for scholarship and grant candidate review. This normally is concentrated in the fall academic term. The Office of International Affairs provides the staff for this committee.


Not fixed by administrative decree. Usually 13-15 faculty, Director of Study Abroad Programs or appointee; Representative of UO Office of Development.


The Off Campus Scholarships and Grants Committee shall report to the Vice Provost for International Affairs. At the minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Vice President for Academic Affairs and to the President of the University no later than May 31.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
Alison SnyderArchitectureabsny@uoregon.edu2014 
Margaret BeanUO Librariesmbean@uoregon.edu2014 
Nicholas ProudfootMathematicsnjp@uoregon.edu2014 
Eric TorrencePhysicstorrence@uoregon.edu2014 
Julie HesslerHistoryhessler@uoregon.edu2014 
Alexander MathasGerman & Scandinavianmathaesa@uoregon.edu2014 
Amy NuetzmanTeaching and Learning Centernuetzman@uoregon.edu2013 
Nagesh MurthyBusinessnmurthy@uoregon.edu2013Chair
Robert O'BrienSociologybobrien@uoregon.edu2013 
Marilyn LintonUndergraduate Studiesmlinton@uoregon.edu2013 
Anita WeissInternational Studiesaweiss@uoregon.edu2013 
Cynthia Stenger RiplingerUniversity Developmentcstenger@uoregon.edu2013 
Martha BaylessEnglishmjbayles@uoregon.edu2013 
Zena AriolaComputer and Information Scienceariola@uoregon.edu2013 
Dala GantAssoc Dir, Scholarship Mgt, DRdala@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Kathy PooleDirector Study Abroad Programskpoole@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Cari Vanderkar MooreAssoc Dir, International Affairscvanderk@uoregon.eduEx OfficioConvener

Administrative Advisory Group

Selection Type: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.