Nontenure-track Instructional Faculty

Brief Description: 

Focuses on addressing the needs of nontenure-track instructional faculty at the UO.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The University Standing Committee on the Status of nontenure-track instructional faculty (NTTF) shall focus on addressing the needs of nontenure-track instructional faculty at the University of Oregon. The responsibilities of the committee shall include the following: 1) Assess NTTF needs, identify priorities and develop proposals to meet them; 2) Recommend ways to educate the University community as a whole on the issues relating to and arising from nontenure-track status for instructional faculty; 3) Pursue long-range planning for NTTF issues and advocate for NTTF input into University decisions affecting NTTF; 4) Act as a channel for communication and community among members of the NTTF; 5) Gather information on nationwide trends in and research on NTTF employment; and 6) Review and consider other NTTF issues as appropriate.


Membership of the NTTF committee shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees for two-year terms (staggered) and shall include at least four members of the tenured faculty, four members of the non-tenure track instructional faculty, and an undergraduate and graduate student. Each UO school/college in which NTTF are employed should be represented on the committee at least every second year. The President of the University Senate and the Vice President for Academic Affairs or his/her designee shall serve as ex-officio non-voting members.


The Status of the NTTF Committee shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate Executive Coordinator no later than the final University Senate meeting in May. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Reports to the Senate: 
Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
Alex DracoblyHistory (NTTF)dracobly@uoregon.edu2014 
Lori HagerArts Administration (TTF)lhager@uoregon.edu2014 
Gordon SayreEnglish (TTF)gsayre@uoregon.edu2014Chair
Mark CarrierBiology (NTTF)mcarrier@uoregon.edu2014 
Dan CloseFamily & Human Servicesdclose@uoregon.edu2014 
Nadia CeccacciRomance Languages (NTTF)ceccacci@uoregon.edu2013 
Michele HenneyLCB (NTTF)mhenney@uoregon.edu2013 
Jenifer CraigMusic and Dance (TTF)jcraig@uoregon.edu2013 
Tim JenkinsPhysics (NTTF)tjenkins@uoregon.edu2013 
Chuck KalnbachBusiness (NTTF)kalnbach@uoregon.edu2013 
Melanie WilliamsRomance Languages (NTTF)melaniew@uoregon.edu2013 
TBDStudent - Graduate 2013 
TBDStudent - Undergraduate 2013 
Barbara AltmannSenior Vice Provost for Academic Affairsbaltmann@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Robert KyrUniversity Senate Presidentrkyr@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

Standing Committee

Selection Type: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.