Committee on Committees

Brief Description: 

It is charged with the oversight of the committee structure within the system of shared governance.

Background: 

This committee was created 18 September 1912 ( see Vol 3 Page 104 of the UO Assembly records)
The following is taken from US9900-15c

Charge and Responsibilities: 

6.5 Committee on Committees: The Committee on Committees is nominated by the Senate Nominating Committee and elected by and responsible to the University Senate. It is charged with the oversight of the committee structure within the system of shared governance. Further, this committee shall designate the faculty membership of all appointed University Standing Committees established by faculty legislation. It may also, when appropriate, nominate the faculty membership of Administrative Advisory Groups and Externally-Mandated Boards. The Committee on Committees shall be charged with the annual orientation of all chairs of University Standing Committees.

Membership: 

6.5.1 The Vice-President of the University Senate shall serve as the chair of the Committee on Committees.

6.5.2 Should vacancies occur during mid-year, the President of the University Senate, in consultation with the Senate Nominating Committee, shall appoint members to complete terms of service on the Committee on Committees.

Current Members: 
Member Unit Contact Term Exp June
 Chair
Robert Kyr
Senate Vice President
rkyr@uoregon.edu
2012
Chair
Shaul CohenGeographyscohen@uoregon.edu2012 
Eric Mentzel
Music
mentzel@uoregon.edu
2012
David Tyler
Chemistry
dtyler@uoregon.edu
2012
Lisa Wolverton
History
lwolvert@uoregon.edu
2012
Deb Carver
Library
dcarver@uoregon.edu
2011

John Conery
Computer and Information Science
conery@uoregon.edu
2011

David Hulse
(Landscape Architecture) - AAA
dulse@uoregon.edu
2011

Rob Illig
Law
rillig@uoregon.edu
2011

Lauren Lindstrom
College of Education
lindstrm@uoregon.edu
2011

David Hubin
Office of the President
hubin@uoregon.edu
Ex Officio

Sue Eveland
Registrar
seveland@uoregon.edu
Ex Officio

Braden Wolf University Liaison asuouniv@uoregon.edu Ex Officio

Type: 

Internal Senate Committee

Selection Type: 

Appointed