Campus Planning

Brief Description: 

Advises the President on long-range campus development with regard to buildings, landscaping, and transportation policy.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Campus Planning Committee shall advise the University President on long-range campus development with regard to the design of the campus, including buildings and landscaping, and to policy issues related to transportation. The committee shall be consulted early in the process when a new development is anticipated and shall ensure that all development is in compliance with the current Campus Plan. The Campus Planning Committee's duties shall include the following: (1) serving as the primary author of proposed amendments and periodic updates to the Campus Plan; (2) verifying the conclusions of the Biennial Capacity Plan as required by the Campus Plan; (3) reviewing proposed development project designs for compliance with the Campus Plan; (4) serving on architect selection committees for development projects; (5) serving on project user groups; and (6) reviewing policy issues related to transportation to determine their consistency with the university's transportation plan. The chairperson shall appoint subcommittees as needed with concurrence of committee members.

Membership Requirements: 

Not fixed:

  • 8 - 10 Faculty and/or Officers of Administration (minimum 5 teaching faculty)
  • 1 Classified Staf
  • 5 Students
  • 1 Faculty member of the University Senate, appointed by the Senate President
  • 1 representative of the College of Arts & Sciences, ex officio
  • Dean of Architecture & Allied Arts, ex officio
  • 1 representative of the Accessible Education Center, ex officio
  • Head of Campus Operations or designee, ex officio
  • Head of Campus Planning, Design & Construction, ex officio
  • Each Vice President or designee, ex officio
Reporting Deadlines: 

The Campus Planning Committee shall report to the Administration. The Committee shall also provide reports to the University Senate. At a minimum these reports shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate Executive Coordinator no later than the University Senate meeting in October. As part of its reporting duties to the University Senate, the Campus Planning Committee will provide an oral report to the Senate in the autumn on progress on major projects over the previous year and a look forward to significant projects that are anticipated or under consideration. Major projects are defined as those projects requiring authorization from the legislature via the Capital Construction Budget Request or the Emergency Board. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary. In particular, the Senate will receive announcements regarding Campus Planning Committee meetings reviewing the design for major projects and public forums on major projects.

Reports to the Senate: 

Individual meeting records can be found here

2014 - 2015 Report to the University Senate

2013 - 2014 Report to the University Senate

2012 - 2013 Report to the University Senate

2011 - 2012 Report to the University Senate

2010 - 2011 Report to the University Senate

UO Sustainable Development Plan Update

2009-2010 Annual Report

Current Members: 
Members
UnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Miriam BoltonCAS Dean's Office - OAmbolton@uoregon.edu2016 
Kenneth KatoGeography - OAkkato@uoregon.edu2016 
Graham KribsPhysicskribs@uoregon.edu2016 
Jeff MadsenCampus Operations - OAjmadsen@uoregon.edu2016 
Andrzej ProskurowskiComputer & Information Scienceandrzej@uoregon.edu2016 
Shannon SardellHistoric Preservationssardell@uoregon.edu2016 
Dean LivelybrooksPhysicsdlivelyb@uoregon.edu2017 
Daniel RosenbergClark Honors Collegedbr@uoregon.edu2017 
Alicia GoingAmerican English Instituteargoing@uoregon.edu2017 
Bitty RoyBiologybit@uoregon.edu2017 
Jane BrubakerClassified Staff Representativejbru@uoregon.edu2017 
Ron LovingerLandscape Architecture - University Senate Representativerlov@uoregon.edu2016 
Ben LuckeUndergraduate Studentblucke@uoregon.edu2016 
Peter ObermeyerUndergraduate Studentpro@uoregon.edu2016 
Brian McBethGraduate Studentjmcbeth@uoregon.edu2016 
Nancy PierceGraduate Studentnpierce@uoregon.edu2016 
Margo BarajasGraduate Studentmargob@uoregon.edu2016 
Hal SadofskyCAS Representativesadofsky@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Hilary GerdesAccessible Education Representativehgerdes@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Chris RameyAssociate VP, Campus Planning/Real Estatecramey@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Brad SheltonInterim Vice President for Research and Innovationshelton@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Jamie MoffittVice President for Finance and Administrationjmoffitt@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Gregg LobisserStudent Affairs - AVP for Capital Projectslobisser@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Rob ThallonAAA Dean designeethallon@uoregon.eduEx Officio Chair
TBDVice President of Advancement Representative Ex Officio 
George HechtAVP - Campus Operations, Facilities Servicesghecht@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Roger ThompsonVice President for Enrollment Managementrjt@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Yvette Alex-AssensohVice President for Equity & Inclusionyalex@uoregon.eduEx Officio 

To email entire committee, please click here.

Category or Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Process: 

Appointed

Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on:

the University Senate Committee Archive page,

the Campus Planning Committee website,

or by contacting Campus Planning Committee Coordinator, Christine Thompson.