Equity, Inclusion and Diversity

Background: 

The Office of Equity and Inclusion (OEI) is responsible for leading the University of Oregon’s efforts to embed inclusion, equity, and diversity in its institutional practices, policies, and norms, and for supporting the academic mission of the institution by ensuring that students, faculty and staff from all backgrounds have equal opportunities. The portfolio of the OEI Vice President includes leading the university’s strategic diversity planning efforts, developing institutional policies, coordinating research and evaluation infrastructure for diversity work, coordinating pipeline programs, and providing organizational leadership for several campus entities. The OIE Vice President also is responsible for engaging with a wide variety of communities external to the university.

The OEI Vice President requests that the University Senate collaborate in forming an Administrative Advisory Group on Equity, Inclusion and Diversity to advise the OIE in areas of its work, particularly regarding the development of policies and programs as well as processes for enhancing and institutionalizing equity, inclusion and diversity in hiring practices, academic curriculum, tenure and promotion processes and retention strategies for faculty and students.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

Advising the Vice President, Senate, and University about institutional goals and policies bearing on equity, inclusion and diversity for academic personnel, students, staff and UO mission-related partnerships with friends of the university; and

Providing the following reports to Vice President, Senate, and University on an annual basis: (i) Report on the status of equity, inclusion and diversity at the University of Oregon; (ii) Climate report on working conditions, salaries, promotions for different groups on campus; and

Undertaking studies of policies and practices affecting equity, inclusion and diversity; and working with the Vice President to make recommendations to appropriate campus bodies and units.

Membership Requirements: 

The Administrative Advisory Group on Equity, Inclusion and Diversity will include membership from diverse university constituents, units, schools, and colleges, and that membership will be established in consultation with the Senate Executive Committee, and approved by the University Senate.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
John Ahlen International Affairsahlen@uoregon.edu 2016 
Stephanie Dresie Chaney Academic Advisingsdchaney@uoregon.edu2016 
Karen CreightonPhysical Education and Recreationkac@uoregon.edu2016 
Nathan GeorgitisDigital Collections Librariannathang@uoregon.edu2016 
Rebecca LynnOA-Accessible Education Centerrlynn@uoregon.edu2016 
Debra Merskin Journalismdmerskin@uoregon.edu2016 
Ann Miller Head Colllection Servicesaemiller@uoregon.edu2016 
Deborah OlsonEducationdlolson@uoregon.edu2016 
Jennifer O'NealLibrarian, Historian, and Archivistjoneal@uoregon.edu2016 
Kelly ReynoldsLaw Reference Librariankellycr@uoregon.edu2016 
Theodora Ko Thompson Admissionstheoron@uoregon.edu2016 
Naomi ZackPhilosophy nzack@uoregon.edu2016 
Daniel HoSangAVP for Equity and Inclusiondhosang@uoregon.eduex officio 
Yvette Alex-AssensohVP for Equity and Inclusionvpinclusion@uoregon.eduex officio 

To email entire committee, please click here.