Academic Council

Brief Description: 

The role of the Academic Council is to discuss and review academic issues and present recommendations for action to the University Senate.

Background: 

The Academic Council was established by the Statutory Faculty Assembly at its 19 May 2010 meeting as part of the New Governance Constitution that was approved and adopted at that meeting.This Council emerged from discussions of the Internal Governance Committee which met during the 2009-10 academic year to develop a new Constitution.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Academic Council is charged with bringing issues relating to academic mission to the Senate with recommendation(s) for action as needed.

The Academic Council shall act on request by any of the committees it represents, or on request by the Senate or on its own initiative. In addition, the Academic Council shall be responsible for vetting Senate motions that may affect academic excellence.

Membership Requirements: 

Membership of the Academic Council shall include a Chair or designee from each committee that has responsibilities covering academic issues, such as Academic Requirements, Committee on Courses, Graduate Council, Scholastic Review Committee, Undergraduate Council, and University Library Committee, Senate Budget Committee and Faculty Personnel Committee. The committees represented on the Academic Council shall be determined by the Senate and be subject to change by that body. The Provost, Senior Vice-Provost for Academic Affairs, and Senate President [or designee] shall be ex-officio non-voting members. Consultation with relevant members of the central administration and related committees (e.g. Academic Infrastructure Committee, Enrollment Management Council) shall be sought as appropriate.

The Academic Council shall designate its chair, who shall sit on the Senate Executive Committee and shall have a seat in the University Senate. The Academic Council shall adopt its own internal rules and procedures.

Reporting Deadlines: 

The Academic Council shall make a report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and the Senate Executive Coordinator no later than the final University Senate meeting in May. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Reports to the Senate: 

Reports

Minutes

May 2016

April 2016

March 2016

January 2016

November 2015

 

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm ExpChair
John  ChalmersSenate Budget Committee Chair -
Business
jchalmer@uoregon.edu2016 
 Victoria "Tory" HermanGraduate Council Chair - Biologyherman@uoregon.edu2016 

Shauna Riedel-Bash

Julie Hessler

Scholastic Review Chair -
Women's & Gender Studies

History

shaunar@cas.uoregon.edu

hessler@uoregon.edu

2016 
 Lars SkalnesAcademic Requirements Chair or designee - Political Sciencelskalnes@uoregon.edu2016 
David FrankFaculty Personnel Committee Chair or designee - English/Honors College                        dfrank@uoregon.edu2016 
Frances WhiteCommittee on Courses Chair - Anthropologyfwhite@uoregon.edu2016Co-Chair
Alison SchmitkeUndergraduate Council Chair - Educationschmitke@uoregon.edu  
Mark HorneyLibrary Committee Chair - Educationmhorney@uoregon.edu2016 
Scott ColtraneProvostcoltrane@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

Douglas Blandy

 

Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

dblandy@uoregon.edu

Ex Officio Non-Voting 

Susan Anderson

Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

susana@uoregon.edu

Ex Officio Non-VotingCo-Chair
Randy SullivanSenate Presidentsmrandy@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Sue EvelandUniversity Registrarseveland@uoregon.eduguest 
Dave HubinOffice of the Provosthubin@uoregon.eduguest 
Michael UrbancicNTTFurbancic@uoregon.eduguest 
TBDAdmissions guest 

 To email entire committee, please click here.

 

Category or Type: 

Standing Committee