Promotion-Tenure-Retention Appeal

Brief Description: 

Shall consider only formal grievances concerning denial of promotion or denial of tenure (or denial of both) or failure to renew an appointment in violation of OAR 571-003 - grievant's rights. Other grievances are dealt with by the Grievance Appeal Committee.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Promotion, Tenure, Retention Appeal Committee (PTRAC) is governed by OAR 570-003-0007. The purpose of this committee is to hear appeals on decisions to deny promotion and/or tenure or the failure to renew an appointment.

Taken from OAR 570-003-0007:

(j) In conducting its business, the committee shall follow the rules of procedure as set out in OAR 571-003-0005(2), (7), (8), and (9) and 571-003-0015(2)(b) through (e);

(k) The Committee shall elect its own chair annually;

(l) The grievant may make a peremptory challenge of one member of the Committee. That member shall be replaced by one selected to serve pro tem by the grievant from a list proposed by the Faculty Advisory Council of three tenured candidates (except that for grievants who are officers of administration non-tenured faculty may be listed).


Taken from OAR 571-003-0007:

(3)(a) The committee shall have its three members, all of whom must be tenured, elected by the non-students eligible to vote at meetings of the University Assembly. Current Deans and Depart-ment Heads shall not be eligible to serve. The committee shall consist of one representative from the College of Arts and Sciences, one from the professional schools and one at large. Nominees, none of whom may be from the same department, shall be persons who previously have been elected to serve (and have served) on the Faculty Personnel Committee, with the following exceptions;

(b) No one may serve simultaneously on the Faculty Personnel Committee and the Promotion/ Tenure/Retention Appeals Committee;

(c) Any member who served on the Faculty Personnel Committee or the College Personnel Committee, or who participated in the depart-mental vote when the grieved action or decision (or informal reviews thereof) occurred must be excused from hearing such an appeal but shall otherwise continue to serve on this committee;

(d) Members of the committee may not serve successive terms;

(e) If any one (or more) member(s) is disqualified under subsection (c) of this section, the fourth and subsequent candidate(s) in the election for the committee shall be asked to serve in place of the disqualified member(s);

(f) The Committee on Committees shall insure a slate of at least two candidates for each open position each year. The candidates shall otherwise be qualified and shall be chosen to insure the division of membership specified in section (1) of this rule;

(g) Candidates may also be nominated by petition. A petition with ten valid signatures of voting faculty shall place those candidates nominated by the petition on the ballot. Petitions shall be distributed by the Secretary of the Faculty and shall specify whether they are for candidates to represent the College of Arts and Sciences or the Professional Schools and Colleges or the at-large position;

(h) Separate ballots shall be prepared for the candidates from the College of Arts and Sciences and the Professional Schools and Colleges. The ballots shall list the candidates nominated by the Committee on Committees and those nominated by petition. All ballots shall be circulated to all voting faculty members;

(i) All members shall be elected to serve staggered three-year terms. At the time of the first election, the person receiving the third highest number of votes shall fill the at large position. The one-, two- and three-year terms of service shall be made by lot. Thereafter, one person shall be elected each year for a three-year term as determined by the original lot, except for those elected to fill vacancies of unexpired terms.


Since the committee deals with confidential appeals, the committee does not file substantive reports.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Steve VacchiMusic & Dance - Prof. Schoolvacchi@uoregon.edu2017 
Cynthia VakareliyskaLinguistics - CAS (At Large)vakarel@uoregon.edu2017 
Mary JaegerClassics - CASmaryjaeg@uoregon.edu2018 

External Board

Selection Type: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.