Undergraduate Council

Brief Description: 

The Undergraduate Council shall be responsible for reviewing, evaluating and enhancing the quality of the University's academic program.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Undergraduate Council shall be responsible for reviewing, evaluating and enhancing the quality of the University’s academic program. The Council’s charge includes: (1) Review and promote the objectives and purposes of undergraduate education and assure that all policies and procedures, curricula, personnel and teaching decisions that affect undergraduate education are consistent and defensible with the institution’s undergraduate education mission as defined in the University’s Mission Statement and Statement of Philosophy, Undergraduate Education; (2) Participate, on behalf of the University faculty, in planning the development and improvement of the undergraduate instructional program of the institution, in consultation with the University President, officers of administration and with relevant department heads and program directors; (3) Formulate, monitor, and respond to general academic policies, especially those which have impact on undergraduate programs across the University; (4) Develop and recommend new and revised baccalaureate degree requirements and policies as appropriate; (5) Monitor, help shape, and approve new undergraduate programs (majors, minors, certificates) and changes to existing programs; (6) Establish criteria and outcomes to determine the success of the overall undergraduate program and review the program and its various components in light of these criteria and outcomes; and, (7) Monitor the academic coherence, quality, and standards of the undergraduate academic program to assure that the quality and rigor of instruction and evaluation are consistent across the curriculum.

Membership: 

Membership of the Undergraduate Council is fixed and consists of the following:

Professional Schools

  • 1 Faculty member from AAA
  • 1 Faculty member from Business
  • 1 Faculty member from Education
  • 1 Faculty Member from SOJC
  • 1 Faculty Member from SOMD
  • 1 Faculty Member from Honors College

CAS (no two from same department)

  • 1 Faculty Member from CAS Humanities
  • 1 Faculty Member from CAS Natural Sciences
  • 1 Faculty Member from CAS Social Sciences
  • 2 Faculty Members: CAS At-Large
  • 4 students (no more than two from the same school or college)
  • Chair of Committee on Courses, ex officio
  • Chair of CAS Curriculum Committee, ex officio
  • Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies (ex officio, non-voting)
  • University Registrar (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Rep from Office of Academic Affairs (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Director of Academic Adivising (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Director of Teaching Effectiveness Program (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Rep from President's Office (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Rep from Library (ex officio, non-voting)

All elected members shall serve staggered, 3-year terms, except for students, who shall serve 1-year terms.

Reporting: 

The Undergraduate Council shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator no later than June 1. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
 Chair
Harinder KhalsaRomance Languages - CAS Humanitiesharinder@uoregon.edu2018 
David LevinMathematics - CAS Natural Sciences

dlevin@uoregon.edu

2018 
Mike UrbancicEconomics - CAS Social Sciencesurbancic@uoregon.edu2019 
Lawrence SugiyamaAnthropology - CAS At Large Repsugiyama@uoregon.edu2018 
John GageEnglish - CAS At Large Repjgage@uoregon.edu2018 
Kassia DellaboughAAA - Prof. Schoolkassia@uoregon.edu2018 
Michele HenneyBusiness - Prof. Schoolmhenney@uoregon.edu2018 
Alison SchmitkeEducation- Prof. Schoolschmitke@uoregon.edu2018Chair
Kelli MatthewsSOJC - Prof. Schoolkmatthew@uoregon.edu2019 
Loren KajikawaMusic & Dance - Prof. Schoolkajikawa@uoregon.edu2018 
Daniel RosenbergClark Honors Collegedbr@uoregon.edu2018 
 Student 2017 
 Student 2017 
 Student 2017 
 Student 2017 
Lisa FreinkelVice Provost Undergraduate Studiesfreinkel@uoregon.eduEx Officio Convener
Frances WhiteAnthropology - Chair of the Committee on Coursesfwhite@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Ian McNeelyCAS Assoc. Dean for UG Studies - Chair of the CAS Curriculum Committeeimcneely@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Sue EvelandUniversity Registrarseveland@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

Ron Bramhall

Office of Academic Affairs representative

rcb@uoregon.edu

Ex Officio Non-Voting

 

Kimberly Johnson

Office of Academic Advising representativejohnskim@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Lee RumbargerDirector Teaching Effectiveness Programleona@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

Katy Lenn

Library representative

 

klenn@uoregon.edu

 

Ex Officio Non-Voting

 

Susan Lesyk

Teaching and Learning Center

lesyk@uoregon.edu

Ex Officio
Non-Voting

 

 

Office of the President

 

Ex Officio Non-Voting

 

To email entire committee, please click here.

Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Type: 

Elected

Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page and on the Undergraduate Council website.