Graduate Council

Brief Description: 

The Graduate Council shall advise the Dean of the Graduate School on matters pertaining to graduate study at the University of Oregon.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Graduate Council shall advise the Dean of the Graduate School on matters pertaining to graduate study at the University of Oregon. The Council shall establish general policies and regulations governing graduate study at the University of Oregon, excluding those matters requiring approval by the Chancellor or the Oregon University System (OUS). Specifically, and in addition to its advisory role, the Graduate Council shall be responsible for: (1) Providing rules and procedures for the effective administration and application of faculty policies and regulations; (2) Recommending changes in, or additions to, the policies and major regulations of the Graduate School; (3) Providing for the maintenance of high standards of graduate instruction; (4) Considering all proposals for changes in courses carrying graduate credit and to present its recommendations to the Committee on Courses; and, (5) Participating in decennial Program Review. This legislation shall not preclude the right of any faculty member to appeal to the general faculty on matters pertaining to graduate policies and regulations.


Membership of the Graduate Council is fixed at 14 voting members, consisting of 12 elected teaching faculty at the rank of assistant professor or above and 2 students plus the Associate Dean of the Graduate School (ex officio, non-voting) and the Dean of the Graduate School (ex officio, non-voting). Of the 12 teaching faculty, 6 shall be from College of Arts and Sciences representing the Humanities (2), the Social Sciences (2), and the Natural Sciences (2), but no two shall be from the same CAS department; 1 from each of the professional schools/colleges which include the School of Architecture and Allied Arts, the Lundquist College of Business, the College of Education, the School of Journalism and Communication, the School of Music and Dance, and the Law School. The elected faculty members of the Graduate Council shall come from departments that have graduate programs leading to a graduate degree and conducted under the jurisdiction of the Graduate School. Exceptions tho this policy will be considered for members from the prfesssional schools/colleges. One student must be from a graduate program leading to a master's degree and one must be from a graduate program leading to a doctoral degree. The Dean of the Graduate School shall be empowered to appoint other ex-officio, non-voting members to represent important constituencies of graduate students and faculty as needed.


The Graduate Council shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator no later than June 1. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp
Kaori IdemaruEast Asian Languages- CAS Humanitiesidemaru@uoregon.edu2016 
Leonardo Garcia-PabonRomance Languages - CAS Humanitieslgarcia@uoregon.edu2017 
Hank ChildsComputer & Info Science- CAS Natural Scienceshank@uoregon.edu2016 
Victoria "Tory" HermanBiology - CAS Natural Sciencesherman@uoregon.edu2016Chair
Shankha ChakrabortyEconomics - CAS Social Sciencesshankhac@uoregon.edu2018 
Stephen FrostAnthropology - CAS Social Sciencessfrost@uoregon.edu2018 
Alison KwokAAA - Prof. Schoolakwok@uoregon.edu2016 
Zhibin "Ben" YangBusiness - Prof. Schoolzyang@uoregon.edu2017 
Krista ChronisterEducation - Prof. Schoolkmg@uoregon.edu2017 
John RussialJournalism & Communication - Prof. Schooljrussial@uoregon.edu2017 
Erik GirvanLaw - Prof 2018 
David RileyMusic & Dance - Prof. Schooldriley@uoregon.edu2017 
 Student - Doctoral, 2017 
 Student - Masters, 2017 
Scott PrattDean of the Graduate Schoolspratt@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Sara HodgesAssociate Dean of the Graduate Schoolsdhodges@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting


Laura JacekAssistant Dean of the Graduate Schooljacek@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Susan AndersonSr. Vice Provost of Academic Affairssusana@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Bruce BlonigenActing Associate Dean of Social Sciencesbruceb@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Ron BramhallAssistant Vice Provost of Academic Affairsrcb@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Mark WatsonAssociate University Librarianmrwatson@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

To email entire committee, please click here.


Standing Committee

Selection Type: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.