Faculty Personnel Committee

Brief Description: 

The Faculty Personnel Committee shall be responsible for advising the Provost on all tenure and promotion cases.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Faculty Personnel Committee shall be responsible for advising the Provost on all tenure and promotion cases.

  • 12 Faculty Members (Fixed)
    • 6 from CAS (no more than one per department)
    • 6 from Professional Schools and Colleges: 1 each from AAA, Education, Law, SOJC, Business, SOMD

1) Only regular tenured Officers of Instruction with academic appointments of 0.5 FTE or greater are eligible to serve. The word `regular' excludes adjunct, visiting, and courtesy appointments. The University President, Vice-Presidents, Provost, Vice-Provosts, Associate and Assistant Provosts, Dean, Associate Deans and CAS department heads are ineligible to serve. No individual may serve during a year when his or her promotion case will come before the FPC; current members must resign from the FPC in such circumstances. No person shall serve simultaneously on the FPC and the Faculty Advisory Council.

2) Election of FPC members. Elections for the FPC shall he held in the spring quarter. Only members of the voting faculty who are Officers of Instruction with tenure or in tenure track positions shall be eligible to vote in elections to the FPC. The Senate Executive Coordinator, with the help of the University Senate, shall ensure that the number of candidates nominated shall be at least one more than the number of open positions in both the College of Arts and Sciences and in the Professional Schools and Colleges. Candidates for the FPC may be nominated by any person who is eligible to vote in the election for that position. Except in instances of self-nomination, the nomination must be accompanied by evidence that the person nominated is willing to serve in the position. Separate ballots shall be prepared for the candidates from CAS and the Professional Schools and Colleges. Both ballots shall be circulated to all eligible voting Officers of Instruction.

3) Resignations: A member of the FPC who does not serve out his or her full term shall be replaced, if possible, during the normal election process, and the replacement will fill the vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term. If a replacement is needed before the normal election process, the person who received the next highest vote in the most recent election for the position shall be appointed to serve out that term.

4) Quorum: No vote on a tenure or promotion case shall be taken in the FPC except in the presence of two-thirds of eligible members. Eligible members are those members who have not recused themselves from a particular case.


The Faculty Personnel Committee shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report for the previous academic year submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator no later than the first University Senate meeting in October. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp
Leonardo Garcia-PabonRomance Languages - CASlgarcia@uoregon.edu2016 
Qusheng JinGeologica Sciences - CASqjin@uoregon.edu2016 
James SchombertPhysics - CASjschombe@uoregon.edu2016 
David FrankEnglish (Honors College) - CASdfrank@uoregon.edu


Ronald MitchellPolitical Science/Environmental Studies - CASrmitchel@uoregon.edu2017 
Doris PayneLinguistics - CASdlpayne@uoregon.edu2017 
Leslie HarrisLaw - Prof. Schoollharris@uoregon.edu2016 
Peter LauferSOJC - Prof. Schoollaufer@uoregon.edu2016 
Steven MatsunagaBusiness - Prof. Schoolstevem@uoregon.edu2017 
Laura Lee McIntyreEducation - Prof. Schoolllmcinty@uoregon.edu2017 
David CrumbMusic & Dance - Prof. Schooldrcrumb@uoregon.edu2017 
Esther HagenlocherA&AA - Prof. Schoolehg@uoregon.edu2017 

To email entire committee, please click here.


Standing Committee

Selection Type: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.