Faculty Advisory Council

Brief Description: 

The Faculty Advisory Council shall be responsible for providing the President and other Administration officials with faculty opinion and counsel on the wide range of university affairs.


The FAC has been functioning formally as an advisory council to the UO President (later also the Provost) since 1916. Its membership and details of its charge have been periodically updated to meet the needs of the UO over time.

The Faculty Advisory Council is a closed, confidential body. The FAC confidentiality policy can be found here

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Faculty Advisory Council is an elected council that provides the President and other Administration officials with a cross-section of opinion and counsel on the wide range of university affairs. Its meetings may be confidential, by agreement of its members. In its relations with the President, the Administration, and with the faculty and other constitutencies the FAC shall act either on request or on its own initiative.

The FAC is exempt from the provisions of the UO Open Committee Meetings legislation
(http://senate.uoregon.edu/content/open-committee-meetings). Therefore, the FAC is not required to post its agenda or minutes or admit spectators to its meetings. The University President and the FAC membership shall jointly determine the details of the FAC's policy on confidentiality, normally at the beginning of the academic year, and shall post the policy on the committee website. The Senate recommends that in consultation with the president the FAC hold at least one open meeting per quarter. The FAC shall submit a written report to the University Senate at the end of the academic year.

The FAC is purely advisory and consultation by the President and administration with the FAC is not a substitute for processes of shared governance, including consultation with the Senate and appropriate committees on matters relevant to their charges. Because it is purely advisory, the FAC shall not conduct any business requiring a vote, other than that required for its own internal purposes, such as elected leadership and setting agendas and meeting times. 


  • 11 Elected Faculty
    • 4 CAS TTF (1 each from Natural Science, Social Sciences, and Humanities + 1 at-large)
    • 4 Professional Schools and Colleges TTF
    • 3 Career NTTF (1 each from CAS, Professional Schools & Colleges, and UO Libraries)
  • UO Senate President, voting ex officio
  • UO Senate Vice-President, voting ex officio
  • 2 Elected OA's
  • University President, non-voting ex officio
  • University Provost, non-voting ex officio
  • Vice Provost(s), non-voting ex officio

No two elected persons from the same CAS department, nor from the same professional school or college, nor from the same administrative unit shall serve at the same time. No person shall serve simultaneously on the Faculty Advisory Council and Faculty Personnel Committee.

The following administrators are ineligible to serve as elected representatives on this committee: the president; the provost; vice presidents; vice provosts; associate or assistant vice provosts; associate or assistant vice presidents; deans; and associate deans or their equivalent. Elected FAC members promoted to interim administrative positions during a term of service will be eligible to complete their academic year of service on the FAC.

Persons nominated to serve on the FAC must be  on campus during the term of office. Temporary or permanent vacancies will be filled by the Committee on Committees, until the next regular university elections.

The FAC shall determine its own leadership by election at the beginning of each academic year or as necessary. 


The Faculty Advisory Council shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator no later than June 1. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary. The FAC's reports to the Senate are subject to the FAC's confidentiality rules. 

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Alex Dracobly


David GaultEducation Studies
Prof. School - NTTF
Jeff StaigerUO Libraries
 Melissa RedfordLinguisitics
CAS Humanities - TTF
 redford@uoregon.edu2016 Co-Chair
Marina GuenzaChemistry
CAS Natural Sciences - TTF
Lynn StephenAnthropology
CAS Social Sciences - TTF
Andrew KardunaHuman Physiology
CAS at large - TTF


Debra MerskinSOJC
Prof. School - TTF
Sharon PaulMusic & Dance
Prof. School - TTF
Laura LeeteAAA
Prof. School - TTF
Tom LiningerLaw
Prof. School - TTF


2017 Co-Chair
Herlinda LeonRomance Languages - OAlleon@uoregon.edu2016 
Helen ChuKnight Library  - OAhelenc@uoregon.edu2017 
Randy SullivanSenate Presidentsmrandy@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Bill HarbaughSenate Vice Presidentharbaugh@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Michael SchillUniversity Presidentpres@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Scott ColtraneSenior Vice President and Provostcoltrane@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 

To email entire committee, please click here.


Standing Committee

Selection Type: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.