Faculty Research Awards

Brief Description: 

Oversees the Faculty Research Award program, including approval of changes to the Awards program, review of applications, and determination of awardees. 

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Faculty Research Awards Committee shall be responsible for evaluating applications for the Faculty Research Awards, funded and administered through the Office of Research, Innovation and Graduate Education, and for determining awardees. The committee shall consider and approve any changes to award definition, eligibility, procedures, and review criteria. The committee shall meet at least twice per year:  in early Fall term, to elect a chair, ensure full membership, and review the Faculty Research Awards program; and in early Winter term to evaluate grant proposals and determine awardees.

Membership Requirements: 
  • 8 - 10 research-active faculty, with broad disciplinary representation
  • Rep from Office of Research, Innovation and Graduate Education, ex officio non-voting

Reporting Deadlines: 

Annually: June 1

The Faculty Research Awards Committee shall make a report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Please use report template.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
Gordon SayreEnglishgsayre@uoregon.edu2018 
Craig ParsonsPolitical Sciencecap@uoregon.edu2018 
Hailin WangPhysics


Ben HansenEconomics


Weiyong HeMathematics


James BrauPhysicsjimbrau@uoregon.edu2018 
Edward DavisGeological Sciencesedavis@uoregon.edu2017 
Chris SinclairMathematicscsinclai@uoregon.edu2017 
Ocean HowellHonors College & AAAohowell@uoregon.edu2017 
Moira KiltieResearch and Faculty Developmentkiltie@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-votingChair

To email entire committee, please click here.

Category or Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Process: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page or by contacting Naomi Crow.