Brief Description: 

Advises the Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships on policy and procedures for awarding scholarships; participates in review of applications and selection of scholarship recipients.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Committee on Scholarships shall be responsible to advise the Office of Financial Aid on policy and procedures for the awarding of scholarships, and to participate in the review of applications and the selection of candidates for scholarships. The committee shall determine the criteria for the awarding of scholarships and shall review applicant files. Successful applicants and level of aid shall also be determined by the committee.

Membership Requirements: 
  • 10 - 12 Teaching Faculty
    • 1 Teaching Faculty from each of the Professional Schools: AAA, Business, Education, Law, SOMD, SOJC
    • 1 Teaching Faculty member from CAS - Humanities
    • 1 Teaching Faculty member from CAS - Natural Sciences
    • 1 Teaching Faculty member from CAS - Social Sciences
    • 1 - 3 at-large Teaching Faculty members
  • 2 Student members (recused from reviewing applications from their peer group)
  • Director of Admissions, ex officio
  • Vice President for Student Affairs, ex officio
  • Director of Financial Aid & Scholarships, ex officio
  • Assistant Vice President for Institutional Equity, ex officio
  • Director of Career Center
  • Director of UO Foundation
Reporting Deadlines: 

Annually: June 1

The Committee on Scholarships shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Scott FitzpatrickAnthropology - CAS Socialsmfitzpa@uoregon.edu2018 
TBD - CAS Natural 2018 
Melissa Baese-BerkLinguistics - CAS Humanitiesmbaesebe@uoregon.edu2018 
David KorandaSOJC - Prof. Schooldkoranda@uoregon.edu2018 
TBDAAA - Prof. School 2017 
Deb BauerBusiness- Prof. Schooldjbauer@uoregon.edu2017 
David JacobsMusic & Dance - Prof. Schooldjacobs@uoregon.edu2017 
TBDLaw - Prof. School 2017 
Beth HarnEducation - Prof. 2018 
Brad GarnerDance - At Large Facultybradg@uoregon.edu2018 
Victor OstrikMath - At Large Faculty (optional)vostrik@uoregon.edu2018 
  - At Large Faculty (optional) 2018 
Emily HuangStudentehuang@uoregon.edu2016 
Samara MokayaStudentsamaram@uoregon.edu2016 
Robin HolmesVice President for Student Affairsrhholmes@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Erika FunkUO Foundation representativeerikaf@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Jim RawlinsDirector of Admissionsjrawlins@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Michelle HoldwayAssoc Dir and Coor Univ Scholarshipsmholdway@uoregon.eduEx Officio Convenor
TBDCntr. Acad. Excellence - VPIE Representative Ex Officio 
Daniel Pascoe AguilarDirector Career Centerdpascoe@uoregon.eduEx Officio 

To email entire committee, please click here.

Category or Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Process: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.