International Scholarships

Brief Description: 

Screens candidates for Fulbright and other international scholarships.


Formerly the Off-Campus Scholarships and Grants Committee.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The International Scholarships Committee serves as a screening board for off-campus student scholarships. Members of the committee interview and evaluate applicants for fellowships such as the Fulbright, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), and Boren (also known as National Student Exchange Program, or NSEP), whose focus is to provide funding for studying abroad.  Members of the committee may also function in a consultative capacity for other prestigious awards, such as the Rhodes and Marshall Scholarships. 

This committee meets as needed for scholarship candidate interviews and discussion of the strengths and weaknesses of each applicant. This work normally is concentrated in the first five weeks of fall term for Fulbright and DAAD awards, and during the first five weeks of winter term for the Boren/NSEP awards.  At the organizational meeting for each scholarship cycle, committee members will divide up the list of applicants, such that each committee member writes the committee report on one or more applicants.

The International Scholarships Committee shall report to the Vice Provost for International Affairs. 

Membership Requirements: 
  • 15 - 18 Faculty, 10 of whom must teach courses
  • Director of Study Aborad Program or designee(s), ex officio
  • Campus representatives for the Marshall, Rhodes, and other international scholarships, ex officio

Reporting Deadlines: 

Annually: June 1

The International Scholarships Committee shall make a report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp
Regina PsakiRomance Languagesrpsaki@uoregon.edu2018 
Darrin DiversRomance Languagesddivers@uoregon.edu2018 
Carol StabileWGScstabile@uoregon.edu2018 
Deanna LinvilleEducationlinville@uoregon.edu2018 
Nicole DahmenSOJCndahmen@uoregon.edu2018 
Nancy ShurtzLawnshurtz@uoregon.edu2018 
Juanita DevereauxRomance Languages

Ralph HeidlBusinessheidl@uoregon.edu2018 
Roberta MannLawrfmann@uoregon.edu2018 
Stephina BrewerAEI 2018 
Bruce TabbUO Librariesbtabb@uoregon.edu2017 
Melissa GraboyesAfrican Studiesgraboyes@uoregon.edu2017 
TBD  2017 
Tiffany GallicanoJournalism & Communicationderville@uoregon.edu2017 
Ngoc-yen TranUO Librariesyentran@uoregon.edu2017 
Hayden HarkerMathematicsharker@uoregon.edu2017 
Sean McClellandAmerican English Institutemcclella@uoregon.edu2017 
Luis RuizAssistant Director, Global Education Oregonlruiz1@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
Michelle Hyde-WrightStudy Abroad Advisor, Global Education Oregonhydewrig@uoregon.eduEx Officio 
 Campus Representative for other international scholarships Ex Officio 

To email entire committee, please click here.

Category or Type: 

Administrative Advisory Group

Selection Process: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.