Non-Tenure-Track Faculty

Brief Description: 

Focuses on addressing the issues of nontenure-track instructional and research faculty at the UO.


Formerly the Nontenure-track Instructional Faculty Committee.The committee was established by Senate motion US0102-8, which passed on May 22, 2002. An Ad Hoc committee on Nontenure-Track Instructional Faculty had met that academic year and submitted the proposal for the new committee. The motion created the new Nontenure-Track Instructional Faculty (NTTIF) committee. During the 2007-08 academic year another motion was adopted to change the name to “Non-Tenure Track Faculty Committee.” The qualifier “Instructional” was dropped with the idea that the committee should address the needs (or issues) of nontenure-track research faculty, who are numerous in some colleges, including Education, as well as post-docs, who as limited-term research employees share many of the concerns of the NTTRF.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Nontenure-Track Faculty (NTTF) Committee focuses on addressing issues of nontenure-track instructional and research faculty at the University of Oregon. The responsibilities of the committee include the following: (1) Assess NTTF needs, identify priorities and develop proposals to meet them; (2) Recommend ways to educate the University community as a whole on the issues relating to and arising from nontenure-track status for instructional and research faculty; (3) Pursue long-range planning for NTTF issues and advocate for NTTF input into University decisions affecting NTTF; (4) Act as a channel for communication and community among members of the NTTF; (5) Gather information on nationwide trends in and research on NTTF employment; and (6) Review and consider other NTTF issues as appropriate.

Membership Requirements: 

Membership of the NTTF Committee is not fixed but shall include at least 10 members. Four of these members shall be tenured faculty, 4 NTTF (both instructional and research faculty), and 1 undergraduate and 1 graduate student. Non-tenured tenure-track faculty may also serve on the committee. Each UO school/college in which NTTF are employed should be represented on the committee at least every second year. The Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs or designee shall serve as an ex-officio non-voting member. The UAUO Vice President for Non-Tenure Track Instructional Faculty Affairs, and UAUO Vice President for Non-Tenure Track Research Faculty Affairs may serve as ex-officio non-voting members.

Reporting Deadlines: 

The committee shall make a report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and the Senate Executive Coordinator no later than June 1. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
Gordon SayreEnglish - TTFgsayre@uoregon.edu2018 
Tannaz FarsiArt - TTFtfarsi@uoregon.edu2017 
TBD- TTF 2017 
TBD- TTF 2017 
Michael StrainCAMCOR- NTTFmstrain@uoregon.edu2018 
Yvonne BradfordNeuroscience - NTTFybradfor@uoregon.edu2018 
Joanna SmithEducational Methodology, Policy, and Leadership - NTTFjos@uoregon.edu2017 
Thomas DelaneyAmerican English Institute - NTTFtdelaney@uoregon.edu2017 
 Student - Graduate 2017 
 Student - Undergraduate 2017 
Susan AndersonSenior Vice Provost for Academic Affairssusana@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Randy SullivanUniversity Senate Presidentsmrandy@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Category or Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Process: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.