Distinguished Teaching Awards

Brief Description: 

Solicits nominations and selects recipients of Ersted Award, Faculty Achievement Award, and other university-wide awards for distinguished teaching.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee shall be responsible for the screening, investigation and recommendation of candidates to receive any Campus-wide teaching awards including, but not limited to, the Ersted Award for Distinguished Teaching and the Thomas F. Herman Faculty Achievement Award for Distinguished Teaching.

Membership Requirements: 

Membership of the Distinguished Teaching Award Committee is fixed and consists of:

  • At least 4 and not more than 8 teaching faculty broadly representative of the faculty at-large
  • 1 student
  • Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, ex officio non-voting
Reporting Deadlines: 

The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee shall report to the University Senate. At a minimum this report shall be in the form of an annual written report submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator no later than June 1. The committee shall also make additional written or oral reports to the Senate as necessary.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp Chair
Jennifer EllisFinancejmellis@uoregon.edu2017 
Kathleen ScaliseEducational Methology, Policy, and Leadershipkscalise@uoregon.edu2017 
Peter WalkerGeographypwalker@uoregon.edu2017 
Paul PeppisEnglishppeppis@uoregon.edu2017 
Dan TichenorPolitical Sciencetichenor@uoregon.edu2017 
Massimo LolliniRomance Languagesmaxiloll@uoregon.edu2017 
Mark UnnoReligious Studiesmunno@uoregon.edu2017 
Sierra DawsonHuman Physiologysdawson@uoregon.edu2017 
 Student 2017 
Susan AndersonSenior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs susana@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-VotingConvenor

To email entire committee, please click here.

Category or Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Process: 

Appointed

Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page.