Committee on Courses

Brief Description: 

The Committee on Courses shall be responsible for the University's curriculum.

Charge and Responsibilities: 

The Committee on Courses shall be responsible for:
(1) Screening all proposals for course changes and reporting its recommendations to the University faculty through the Faculty Senate;
(2) Directing the University editor on the content and structure of the University Catalog;
(3) Consulting with the Undergraduate Council and the Graduate Council on curricular patterns of concern;
(4) Participating, on behalf of the University faculty, in planning the development and improvement of the instructional program of the institution;
(5) Reviewing courses not taught on a regular basis;
(6) Determining whether courses satisfy the multicultural requirement;
(7) Monitoring adherence to the approved curriculum, standards, and policies on an as-needed basis; and,
(8) Providing advice and assistance to schools and departments in the planning of the curriculum. When the committee is recessed, the chair of the committee shall have authority to approve immediate emergency requests for course changes subject to review when the committee resumes business. This authority may be delegated to the Provost in the absence of the chair.

Membership Requirements: 
  • 7 Teaching Faculty
        (No two from same dept, school or college except CAS; no more than 2 from same CAS
  • 1 Undergraduate Student
  • 1 Graduate Student
  • Catalog Editor or designee, ex officio non-voting
  • Director of Academic Advisins or designee, ex officio non-voting
  • University Registrar or designee, ex officio non-voting
  • Dean of the Graduate School or designee, ex officio non-voting


Reporting Deadlines: 

The Committee on Courses shall report to the University Senate in the fall, winter and spring academic terms. Each report shall be in the form of a preliminary report of curricular changes which shall be approved by the University Senate before implementation. An annual written report shall be submitted by the Committee Chair to the Senate President and Senate Executive Coordinator no later than June 1.

Current Members: 
MemberUnitContactTerm Exp June
Mike UrbancicEconomicsurbancic@uoregon.edu2019 
Christian CherryMusic and Dancecerise@uoregon.edu2019 
Boyana NorrisComputer & Information Sciencebnorris2@uoregon.edu2017 
Roberta MannLawrfmann@uoregon.edu2017 
Frances WhiteAnthropologyfwhite@uoregon.edu2017Chair
Jana Prikryl Musicjprikryl@uoregon.edu2019 
Gordon HallPsychologygnhall@uoregon.edu2018 
 Student - Undergraduate 2017 
 Student - Graduate 2017 
Bill MorrillAcademic Advising representativebmorrill@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Sue EvelandUniversity Registrarseveland@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Scott SkeltonCatalog Editorsskelton@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Mike JefferisAsst Registrar Academic Sched (Staff)jefferis@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Sara HodgesGraduate School representativesdhodges@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-Voting 
Ron BramhallAssociate Vice Provost for Academic Excellencercb@uoregon.eduEx Officio Non-VotingConvener

To email entire committee, please click here.

Category or Type: 

Standing Committee

Selection Process: 


Additional Information: 

Additional information can be found on the University Senate Committee Archive page or by

contacting Kathy Warden, curriculum coordinator.